3 Ways To Prepare Your Heart for Easter:

Hi sweet friends! I apologize for not being consistent in posting… my main excuses are schoolwork and other activities that have kept myself and my family quite busy. Thank you for your patience as I’ve been absent. 😉

All that aside, let’s jump into this post.

***

As I mentioned earlier, March and April have been two very busy months for myself and my family. With school work, activities, a road trip to prepare for and numerous other things, it has been hard for me to slow down, be still and truly prepare my heart for Resurrection Sunday. Perhaps you feel the same way? Has the hustle and bustle been getting between you and prioritizing your time with the Lord?

Do you feel as if there is no way you can still prepare for Easter, now that it’s only a week away? Truth is, it’s not too late. You can start right now!

I’ve written down a list of ways I’m preparing my heart for Easter, perhaps some of the ideas will be useful to you!

This isn’t mentioned in the list down below, but it’s highly important… So, I’m adding it real quick. Get in the Word. This week, I would encourage you to personally read the verses leading up to Jesus’ resurrection. And then, I’d also encourage you to look up passages on the topics of sanctification, redemption, being made dead to sin and alive in Christ, freedom through Jesus and being a new creation through Christ. For me, it can be hard to truly slow my heart and mind down enough to process scripture as I read it. I found that simply sitting down and writing (or drawing) out scripture, forces my brain to engage, comprehend, and process what the Lord has written for me in His word.  Whether it’s fifteen or twenty minutes, set aside some time to spend dwelling in God’s word this week.  “Guide me in Your truth and teach me, for you are God my Savior, and my hope is in You all day long.” Psalm 25:5

3 Practical Ways to Prepare Your Heart For Easter:

(1. De-clutter Your Heart and Mind:  Pray. As you prepare your heart for Easter, ask the Lord to help you keep your heart and mind fixed on Him. If something is heavy on your heart and weighing you down or perhaps making you feel distant from God, lay it down at the feet of Jesus. Jesus carried the burden of our sin on the cross, so that we wouldn’t have to carry it ourself.  Lie the things cluttering your mind, life and heart down at the feet of Jesus.

(2. Remember and Take to Heart what He did for You. Jesus went to the cross for YOU. Your life was forever shaped by what happened in those days. Take to heart the suffering that was done for YOU.  Realize that you no longer bear the name of a “slave to fear” but a “Child of God.”  Read: (Matthew 27:45-53) and (John 19:1-16)

But to all who received him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. – John 1:12 ESV

(3. Strive to intentionally keep your focus on Jesus. Read John 12:1-10 – In this passage, Mary unabashedly worships Jesus as she anoints the feet of Jesus with precious perfume. She has no care whatsoever about the thoughts of those around her. What an example to follow.  As you prepare for Easter don’t get distracted, as so many who focus more on the chocolate, jelly beans and Easter eggs, than they do on Jesus and His sacrifice. Don’t get me wrong, chocolate is tasty and Easter Egg Hunts are fun, but don’t let it deter you from focusing on Jesus and approaching these days with unashamed worship. Ignore the crowd, and keep your focus on the Holy One who deserves all our worship.

Praise the LORD, my soul; all my inmost being, praise His holy name.-Psalm 103:1 NIV 

Let’s talk!

Are there any more ways we can prepare our heart for Easter? Maybe you have some ideas that I didn’t think of! If so, leave a comment down below. I love hearing your insight!

Before you go…

Since my time has been tight and I haven’t been able to personally make printables and scripture cards for you, I have a few resources down below that may help you in preparation for Easter Sunday. I hope they will be helpful!

But God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. – Romans 5:8 ESV

For the wages of sin is death but the free gift of God is eternal life in Jesus Christ our Lord. – Romans 6:23 ESV

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

